Aspindle scoops awards at Spenborough presentation

Rising decathlon starlet Glenn Aspindle walked off with a lion’s share of the honours from Spenborough and District Athletic Club’s annual awards presentation last Friday.

Friday, 4th December 2015, 2:21 pm
Spenborough AC award winers, while below, President Brian Ward presents Glenn Aspindle (right) with the Allat Memorial Trophy for the outstanding athlete of the year. Pictures: Cath Chaplin

The event, staged at Cleckheaton Rugby, Cricket and Sports Club, brought together the cream of Spen Valley’s track and field talent and 17-year old multi-eventer Aspindle picked up a host of awards.

He received the Allat Trophy for the outstanding athlete of the year, the Earnshaw Trophy for the best field performances, the most points in junior men’s track and field competition and a cash award for winning the Yorkshire Under-20s javelin and triple jump titles.

Under-15 County Champion Charlotte Bell was not far behind after a season of steady progression in discus, shot and hammer, which took her and several of her clubmates to Italy and the Czech Republic during the summer to represent Kirklees in the European Kids Games.

There were also trophies for Kevin Ogden’s performances on the road and cross country.

Track and field awards were presented to Linda North, Erin Newsome, Jason Newell, Jake Darby, Mason Smith, Sam Taylor, James Bell, Emma Rawnsley, Rosa McKie, Georgia Smith-Calvert and Natalie Groves.

Further cross country trophies were handed to Joe Sagar, Rob Chaplin, Katy Gomersall and Joanne Burden (road running), Paul Davis, Jack Barrowclough, Harry Brackenridge, Olivia Reeah, Nicloas Brackenridge, Courtney Benson, Tobin Rhodes and Natasha Geere.

Club president Brian Ward was on hand to present the Spen Grand Prix titles, for a series of 13 mostly road races, to Ian Ogden and Jackie Carter, with Henry Carter and Courtney Benson picking up the junior awards.

Track and Field team managers Emma Rawnsley and Tracey Mitchell were jointly awarded the Presidents Cup for their sterling behind-the-scenes work at the club.

Michael Dransfield, Richard Lee, Ian Whittaker, Nick Crimmen, Frank Reddington and Chris Drake were all awarded life membership for their long-standing services to Spenborough AC, in a couple of cases dating back to the 1970s.