Bradford League cricketers honoured at awards evening

Tom Priestley was awarded the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy for his outstanding service to Bradford League cricket.

Wednesday, 21st November 2018, 1:22 pm
Updated Wednesday, 21st November 2018, 1:24 pm
Birstall player Josh Haynes was named Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year and scooped the Ernest Lodge Young Spinner award as last Fridays Bradford League dinner. Picture: Paul Butterfield

At 91 years old, Mr Priestley was unable to attend last Friday’s annual dinner and awards ceremony in the Long Room at Headingley but his huge impact over a vast number of years was recognised with the highest accolade after making a marked impact on the careers of young cricketers, umpires and scorers in the Bradford League.

Bradford League Award Winners 2018


Premier Division

Batting: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence) 1079 Ave 71.93

Bowling: James Logan (Farsley)54 wkts 11.02 ave

Wicketkeeping: Ishmail Dawood (Hanging Heaton) 37 victims 31ct 6st

Championship One

Batting: Khalid Usman (Undercliffe) 585 runs ave 65

Bowling: Khalid Usman (Undercliffe) 55wkts 8.38 ave

Wicketkeeping: Nail Zada (Batley) 37victims 30 ct 7st

Championship Two

Batting: Deron Greaves (Brighouse) 789 runs at 65.75

Bowling: Paul Quinlan (Keighley) 64wkts ave 10.91

Wicketkeeping: Adam Smith (Keighley 26 victims 22ct 4st


Batting: Tom Watson (Jer Lane) 773 runs ave 77.33

Bowling: Zaeem Zulfqar (Azaad) 41wkts ave 8.07

Wicketkeeping: Josh Bennett (Adwalton) 30victims 20ct 10st

2ndXI Premier Division

Batting: Chris Hosley (Ossett) 700 runs at ave 63.64

Bowling: Jordan Moore (Pudsey St Lawrence) 44wkts ave 10.43

Wicketkeeping: Craig Russell (New Farnley) 31 victims 21 catches 10 stumpings

Championship One

Batting: Shahid Rehman (Cleckheaton) 532 ave 48.36

Bowling: Jamie Abbott (Baildon) 53 wkts ave 7.06

Wicketkeeping: Alex Kaye (Bradford & Bingley) 26 victims 24 catches 2stumpings

Championship Two

Batting: Neil Kellett (Scholes) 559 ave 62.11

Bowling: Humayan Shahzad (Keighley) 31wkts ave 8.52

Wicketkeeping: George Bickle (Northowram Fields) 19victims 18 catches 1 stumping


Batting: Will Cutt (Adwalton) 468 runs ave 58.5

Bowling: Oliver Brown (Oulton) 45 wkts Ave 8.42

Wicketkeeping: Sam Haigh (Hunslet Nelson) 21 victim 16 catches 5 stumpings

Highest League Innings: Paul Sauer (Crossbank Methodists) 204

Highest Opening partnership: 185 Tim Jackson 102 and Sam Frankland 94 Woodlands v Bradford & Bingley

Highest Aggregate1st XI runs: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence) 1,079

Highest Aggregate1st XI Wickets: Jonathan Rudge (Wrenthorpe) 76

1st XIMost League Stumpings: Josh Bennett (Adwalton) 10

2nd XIMost League Stumpings: Craig Russell (New Farnley) 10

Simon Stirling Memorial Cup Most sixes: Farrouk Alam (Altofts) 39

Sir Learie Constantine Premier Division All Rounder: James Logan (Farsley)

Jack Hill Championship & Conference All Rounder: Khalid Usman (Undercliffe)

Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year: Josh Haynes (Birstall)

Ernest Lodge Young Spinner of the Year: Josh Haynes (Birstall)

Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award: Morley Tommy Mathers Ground Award: Hartshead Moor

Players player of the year: Mark Robertshaw

Unsung Hero Award: Joanne Walker

Sir Leonard Hutton Award: Tom Priestley