Hartshead climb off bottom after securing third win

Townville players celebrate taking a wicket against Methley.
Townville players celebrate taking a wicket against Methley.

Hartshead Moor moved off the foot of the Allrounder Bradford League Championship B table thanks to a three-wicket win over Carlton last Saturday.

It was only Hartshead’s third win of the season but was enough to see them jump above Brighouse.

Joe Bowman claimed 3-62 as Carlton were restricted to 188-7, with Ismail Patel (31) top scoring.

Hartshead timed their run chase to perfection and won with two balls to spare.

Craig Field led the way with 68, while support came from Liam Muggeridge (26) as Moor won despite the efforts of Ismail Patel (3-45) and Arman Hussain( 3-54).

Ashley Mackereth powered to a splendid 122 off just 60 balls, as Hopton Mills compiled a total of 254-9 in their impressive 88-run win over Gomersal.

Mackereth struck nine sixes and 12 fours during his sparkling innings, while overseas player Lauren Steenkamp chipped in with 47.

Liam Thomas (44) top scored as Gomersal were dismissed for 166, with Philip Scott taking 4-27 and Michael Carroll (3-38).

Leaders Townville showed no mercy for their old rivals as they sealed an emphatic eight-wicket win over Methley.

Methley were dismissed for just 78 with Conor Harvey (6-26) and Jack Hughes (4-8) doing the damage. Only opener Marcus Walmsley (34) offered any resistance.

Jonathan Booth and Hughes both made 37 not out to steer Townville to their target.

Townville are 43 points clear of second placed Wrenthorpe with five games remaining and are counting down the matches until their place in next season’s Premier Division is confirmed.

Spen Victoria suffered at the hands of Wrenthorpe bowler Jonathan Rudge as they slipped to an eight-wicket defeat.

Rudge produced one of the bowling performances of the season when he took 9-53 as Spen were dismissed for just 85.

Darryl Hendricks guided Wrenthorpe to their modest target with an unbeaten 53.

The top two sides are due to meet on Saturday September 3, although the title may well be wrapped up by then.

Bowling Old Lane’s Ahsan Butt made an unbeaten 105 in a 64-run success over Brighouse. Farakh Hussain (45) shared a 100 run fourth-wicket stand with Butt while Bilal Ejaz struck an unbeaten 44 in a total of 227-4 before Brighouse were bowled out for 163.