Heckmondwike end Buttershaw’s unbeaten record

Crossbank's Richard Hosley and James Abbott run against Wakefield SM.
Crossbank's Richard Hosley and James Abbott run against Wakefield SM.

Heckmondwike and Carlinghow produced a superb display to end Buttershaw St Paul’s unbeaten run in the All Rounder Bradford League Conference last Saturday.

Heckmondwike posted a useful 190 thanks to the efforts of Usman Qureshi (46), Paul Cooper (39) and Matthew Crowther (33) while Tosh Baker (4-74) and Ben Platt (3-47) were the pick of the Buttershaw bowlers.

Jonathan Elstub took 5-52 and Paul Cooper (4-88) as Buttershaw were dismissed for 173 in reply with Baker (56no) and Kevin McDermott (46) their leading scorers.

Great Preston are just eight points behind the leaders after a 58-run win over East Ardsley.

Adam Pearson (5-54) and Mark Heald (3-40) helped dismiss Great Preston for 183 but Ardsley could only muster 125 in reply as James Marston (4-28) and Lee Russell (3-36) shone.

Crossbank Methodists slipped to a 10-wicket defeat at Wakefield St Michael’s after they were dismissed for just 56, with Michael Halloran (4-26) and Joseph Finnigan (3-20) doing the damage.

Mark Atkinson hit an unbeaten 32 to steer St Michael’s to victory.

Gildersome secured their first win of the season as they defeated Azaad by 57 runs.

Liam Pearson took 5-22 as Azaad were out for 127 in reply to Gildersome’s 184, in which Mark Simpson (75) top scored.

Alex Houghton (4-29) and Garry Dawber (3-5) bowled out Adwalton for 103 to secure a 58-run win for Oulton, while Northowram Fields were frustrated by the weather as their game with Rodley was abandoned after they had made 194-9.