Methley defeat Birstall to retain CYL Premier title

editorial image

Methley defeated Birstall to clinch the Central Yorkshire League Premier Division title on the final day of the season last Saturday.

Wakefield Thornes threatened to ruin Methley’s celebrations when they earned a quickfire win over Hunslet Nelson.

Will Stiff (34) and Robert Barker (26) led the way for Nelson but they were bowled out for 107 in 33.2 overs as Faisal Irfan (3-11), Matt Varley (3-42), Rav Palliyguruge (2-25) and Mahmood Rasool (2-21) shared the wickets.

James Wolfenden (35no), David Toft (34) and Joe Cook (28no) led Thornes to victory in just 11.2 overs.

Methley batted first in their game with Birstall, with Richard Foster (76) and Marcus Walmsley (104no) putting on 157 for the first wicket.

Ed Walmsley struck 34 not out before Methley declared on 231-1 after 34 overs.

Birstall were reduced to 58-5 but offered stubborn resistance as Australian Robert Pearl (38) and captain Craig Wood (31) dug deep.

Methley kept plugging away through Mustafa Bashir (3-23), Marcus Walmsley (2-27), Josh Sullivan (2-27) and Ed Walmsley (1-23) and the final Birstall wicket fell at 7.20pm to spark Methley celebrations having completed the double with the Jack Hampshire Cup already in their trophy cabinet.

Townville clinched third place with a four-point win over Wrenthorpe.

James Glynn (62) and Neil Bourke (42) were the top scorers in Wrenthorpe’s 160-8, with Jack Hughes taking 4-39.

Townville were reduced to 78-4 in reply but an unbeaten fifth wicket stand of 88 by Nick Bresnan (51no) and Connor Harvey (36no) saw them home.

The game also saw an intriguing battle to see who would finish as the league’s top batsman.

Wrenthorpe’s South African Darryl Hendricks led Chris Holliday by just 21 runs going into the game but when the former was out for eight it looked like giving a great opportunity to Holliday.

However, after such a prolific season he failed to score, and the top scorer trophy went to Hendricks, although both players have passed the 1,000 run milestone.

Hendricks ended the season with 1,063 runs at an average of 75.93 and Holliday 1,034 at 73.86.

The final day games between Batley and Mirfield Parish, Altofts and Ossett and Carlton and Buttershaw St Paul’s were all abandoned.