Bradford League cricketers honoured at Headingley prize presentation

Hanging Heaton's Nick Connolly won the First Eleven batting averages and highest league aggregate, while sharing the highest partnership with Gary Fellows.
Hanging Heaton's Nick Connolly won the First Eleven batting averages and highest league aggregate, while sharing the highest partnership with Gary Fellows.

Over 300 cricketers, guests and administrators attended last Friday’s Allrounder Bradford League dinner and prize presentation in the Long Room at Emerald Headingley.

It was a celebration of another successful season, culminating in MCC President Philip Hodgson entertaining those in attendance as guest speaker.

Batley collected the Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award, the Unsung Hero award went to Oulton’s Stephen Bradbury, while the top honour of the evening — the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy for services to Bradford League cricket went to Bankfoot stalwart Richard Peel.

Hanging Heaton batsman Nick Connolly went home with three trophies as he won the Premier Division batting prize with an average of 89.62, while his 1,165 league runs was the highest first team aggregate.

Connolly also shared the league’s highest opening partnership of 268 with captain Gary Fellows — the third consecutive season the pair have scooped that prize.

Heaton’s overseas spin bowler Mohammed Rameez claimed the Premier Division bowling averages having taken 57 wickets at 10.56 during their title winning season.

Hanging Heaton were also re-presented with the White Rose Trophy after they became the first Bradford League side to win the Yorkshire Champions play-offs with victory over Wakefield Thornes in September.

Shoukat Ali won the Championship One batting averages having scored 879 runs at 51.71 in helping Scholes win the title and promotion back to the top flight.

Hartshead Moor picked up three awards as Mohammed Khan won the Championship Two batting averages having scored 1,127 runs at 89.69, while he also claimed the Jack Hill Trophy as the Championships and Conference first team all-rounder of the season.

Teammate Iain Wardlaw picked up the Highest Aggregate League wickets award having claimed 76 during Hartshead’s double winning season as they romped to the Championship Two title and won the Jack Hampshire Trophy.

Liversedge’s Asif Ali won the Championship Two bowling averages having claimed 63 wickets at 8.33.

Gomersal’s Matthew Hirst claimed the second team Championship One bowling averages having taken 57 wickets at 9.65, while teammate Harvey Lockwood picked up the wicketkeeping prizes having claimed 30 victims with 21 catches and nine stumpings during their title winning campaign.

Liversedge players won the batting and bowling averages in the second team’s Conference.

Jonathan Trevitt won the batting averages having scored 388 runs at 64.67, while Adam Clarke was the leading bowler with 45 wickets at 9.47.

The highest league innings of the season went to Yorkshire batsman Alex Lees after his record breaking score of 227 when playing for Lightcliffe against Bradford and Bingley.

Cleckheaton’s Mally Nicholsion — who has been appointed captain at Moorend in 2018 — won the prize for most first team stumpings with 12.

Methley all-rounder Marcus Walmsley was named Bradford League Players Player of the Year after an online vote saw him edge out Connolly into second place, with Wardlaw and Khan also shortlisted.



Batting Average: Nick Connolly (Hanging Heaton) 1165 Ave 89.62

Bowling Average Muhammed Rameez (Hanging Heaton) 57 wkts 10.56 ave

Wicket Keeping: Matthew Duce (Bradford & Bingley) 35 victims 30 catches 5 stumpings


Batting Average: Shoukat Ali (Scholes) 879 runs ave 51.71

Bowling Average: Oliver Halliday (Morley) 45wkts 8.24 ave

Wicketkeeping: Jake McCaffrey (Methley) 33 victims 31 catches 2 stumpings


Batting Average: Mohammed Khan (Hartshead Moor) 1127runs at 86.69

Bowling Average: Asif Ali (Liversedge) 63wkts ave 8.33

Wicketkeeping: Tom Taylor (Carlton) 33 victims 27 catches 6 stumpings


Batting Average: Haseen Bashir (East Ardsley) 659 runs ave 65.90

Bowling Average: Joe Finnigan (Wakefield St Michael’s) 69wkts ave 9.17

Wicketkeeping: Daniel Harwood (Great Preston) 28victims 27catches 1 stumping


Batting Average: Joshua Smith (Pudsey St Lawrence) 485 runs at ave 53.89

Bowling Average: Will Swift (New Farnley) 42wkts ave 12.12

Wicketkeeping: Craig Russell (New Farnley) 28 victims 16 ct 12 st


Batting Average: Chris Hosley (Ossett) 787 ave 71.55

Bowling Average: Matthew Hirst (Gomersal) 57 wkts ave 9.65

Wicketkeeping: Harvey Lockwood (Gomersal) 30 victims 21 catches 9 stumpings


Batting Average: Kyle Welsh (Northowram Fields) 713 ave 59.42

Bowling Average: Nigel Hanson (Bankfoot) 37wkts ave 9.86

Wicketkeeping: Kyle Welsh (Northowram Fields) 23 victims 19 catches 4 stumpings


Batting Average: Jonathan Trevitt (Liversedge) 388 runs ave 64.67

Bowling Average: Adam Clarke (Liversedge) 45 wkts Ave 7.47

Wicketkeeping: Paul Gough (Oulton) 19 victim 15 catches 4 stumpings


Highest League Innings: Alex Lees (Lightcliffe) 227no

Highest Opening partnership: 268 Nick Connolly 123no & Gary Fellows (Hanging Heaton) 146

Highest Aggregate1st XI runs: Nick Connolly (Hanging Heaton) 1,165

Highest Aggregate1st XI Wickets: Iain Wardlaw (Hartshead Moor) 76

1st XI Most League Stumpings: Mally Nicholson (Cleckheaton) 12

2nd XI Most League Stumpings: Craig Russell (New Farnley) 12

Simon Stirling Memorial Cup Most sixes in the season: Pritesh Lad (Buttershaw St Paul’s) 52

Sir Learie Constantine Premier Division 1st XI All Rounder of the seaspm: Jack Hughes (Townville)

Jack Hill Championship & Conference 1st XI All Rounder: Mohammad Khan (Hartshead Moor)

Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year: Connor Harvey (Townville)

Ernest Lodge Young Spinner of the Year: Adam Ahmed (Farsley)

Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award: Batley

Tommy Mathers Ground Award: Lightcliffe

Players player of the year: Marcus Walmaley (Methley)

Unsung Hero Award: Stephen Bradbury (Rodley)

Sir Leonard Hutton Award: Richard Peel (Bankfoot)