Headingley plays host to Bradford Cricket League awards ceremony

File picture
File picture

The Allrounder Bradford Premier League hosted their annual awards presentation, with over 300 people attending the dinner at Headingley.

Guest speaker was former Derbyshire and England player and national chairman of selectors Geoff Miller.

Players from local sides Woodlands, Batley, Cleckheaton, Gomersal and Hanging Heaton all scooped awards.

Woodlands all-rounder Chris Brice won the Premier Division bowling averages, with clubmate Kieran Rodger picking up the award as the second team Premier Division bowling averages winner.

Batley’s Aqsad Ali picked up the Championship A bowling averages prize after helping his side to promotion.

Hanging Heaton overseas player Muhammad Rameez claimed the Staford Heginbotham award for most first team league victims, with 60, and also picked up the players player of the season.

Former New Zealand Test batsman Tony Blain won the Championship B batting averages, with fellow Gomersal player Phil Carter claiming the wicketkeeping prize.

The main award of the evening, the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy for services to Bradford League cricket, went to Undercliffe’s long serving secretary Rodney Broadbent.

Premier Division 1ST XI

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy Batting Averages: James Smith (Pudsey SL) 684 runs at 52.62.

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy Bowling Averages: Chris Brice (Woodlands) 44 wkts 13.50.

F Milton Watmough Wicketkeeping Trophy: Charlie Best (Bradford & Bingley) 36 victims — 30 catches and 6 stumpings

Championship A 1ST XI

Batting Average: Johnny Reynolds (Baildon) 606 runs @ 55.09

Bowling Average: Aqsad Ali (Batley) 47wkts @ 10.36

Parkside Trophy Wicketkeeping: Bilal Hamid (Saltaire) 29 victims 16 catches 13 stumpings

Championship B 1ST XI

Batting Average: Jack Hughes (Townville) 941 runs @72.38

Bowling Average: Jack Hughes (Townville) 58wkts @ 9.40

Wicketkeeping: Tom Taylor (Carlton) 29 victims — 21catches, 8stumpings

Conference 1st XI

Batting Average: Thomas Baker (Buttershaw St Paul’s) 611 runs @ 76.38

Bowling Average: Darmesh Mistry (Buttershaw St Paul’s) 30wkts @ 9.67

Wicketkeeping: Jonathan Henshaw (Oulton) 26 victims 22 catches 4 stumpings

Premier Division 2ND XI

R Park Guild Trophy Batting Average: Joshua Smith (Pudsey St Lawrence) 552 runs @ 50.18

JR Burnet Trophy Bowling Average: Kieran Rodger (Woodlands) 41wkts @ 13.51

G Palfreyman Wicketkeeping Trophy: Jack Allman (Pudsey SL) — 24 victims 22 catches 2 stumpings

Championship A 2nd XI

Bruce W Moss Trophy Batting Average: George Heartfield (Bradford & Bingley) 546 @ 60.67

W Hopkinson Bowling Average: Ahsan Alishan (Bowling Old Lane)55 wkts @ 8.11

Wicketkeeping: Elliott Hallas (Cleckheaton) 23 victims 19 catches 4 stumpings

Championship B 2ND XI

Batting Average: Tony Blain (Gomersal) 1,028 ave 68.40

Bowling Average: Harry Sullivan (Methley) 54wkts ave 8.24

Wicketkeeping: Philip Carter (Gomersal) 19 victims 16 catches 3 stumpings

Conference 2nd XI

Batting Average: Richard White (Great Preston) 514 runs ave 57.11

Bowling Average: Asif Iqbal (East Leeds) 31 wkts Ave 9.90

Wicketkeeping: Sam Haigh (Hunslet Nelson) 27 victim 24 catches 3 stumpings

John Heaton Memorial Trophy Highest Opening partnership: 216 Nick Connolly 93no & Gary Fellows (Hanging Heaton) 113

Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy Highest Aggregate1st XI runs: Jonathan Booth (Townville) 1,083

Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy Highest Aggregate 1st XI Wickets: Muhammad Rameez (Hanging Heaton) 60

Harry Crabtree Fastest Fifty Trophy: Sarfraz Ahmed (Woodlands) 20 balls

Stan Longbottom Safe Hands Trophy 1st XI Most League Stumpings: Bilal Hamid (Saltaire) 13

Mick Illingworth Safe Glove Trophy: Samuel Massheder (Yeadon) 7

Simon Stirling Memorial Cup Most sixes: James Smith (Pudsey St Lawrence) 48.

Sir Learie Constantine Premier Division 1st XI All Rounder: Charlie Best (Bradford & Bingley) 500 runs and 36 victims.

Jack Hill Championship & Conference 1st XI All Rounder Jack Hughes (Townville) 941 runs at 72.38 & 59 wkts at 9.40.

Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year: Conor Harvey (Townville). Ernest Lodge Young Spinner of the Year: Adam Ahmed (Farsley).

Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award: Keighley

Tommy Mathers Ground Award: Carlton

Players player of the year: Muhammad Rameez (Hanging Heaton)

Unsung Hero Award: Judith Wragg (Farsley)

Sir Leonard Hutton Award: Rodney Broadbent (Undercliffe).