Fond memories revived at Moor

Dewsbury Moor ARLFC are holding a reunion at Heckmondwike Road, with former players, committee members and supporters this Saturday (October 15) starting at 7.30pm.

Tuesday, 18th October 2011, 8:00 am

Almost 45 years ago a group of RL enthusiasts started a rugby team in the Dewsbury Moor area. Until then young men had to travel outside the area to get a game.

In the early days the club’s headquarters included the Quarry Public House, Dewsbury Moor Low Road Club and the Woolpack pub.

After the first decade the club agreed they needed their own premises and the ambitious committee decided to buy the Harrison’s ice cream factory for their new headquarters.

Some of the early pioneers of the club included Ernest Clark, Harry Fortis, Mick Smithson, Ronnie Wood, Ernest Wilby, Brian Chappel, Tony Delaney, Alan Fortis, Paul Curnin, Peter and Hughie Delaney, Dave Hoyle, Walt Morgan, Dave O’Connor, Bob Diskin, Derek Allott, Ken Audsley, Tommy Myers, Peter Charlesworth and many more.

The next move was to acquire the three rugby fields below the club off Carr Lane, these are now kept in good condition by lifelong member Derek Allott.

Dewsbury Moor serves the community by providing rugby league for all ages. They run 12 teams from Under-8s to open age. They also have a ladies team.

On the social side the club hosts the Dewsbury Moor Over-50s club, which meets for bingo sessions and social activities every week. An archery club also uses the club’s facilities.

Dewsbury Moor has also provided the professional game with some good players who learned the game at the club. They include Sam Burgess, Luke Burgess (Bradford), George Burgess, Tom Burgess, (Leeds), Matt Diskin (Leeds, Bradford), Ryan Sheridan (Leeds), Danny Ward (Leeds, Castleford), Lee Gilmour (Wigan, St Helens, Bradford, Huddersfield), Paul Delaney (Leeds, Dewsbury), Michael Jackson (Sheffield, Hunslet Halifax), Richard Pachniuk (Oldham, Rochdale, Dewsbury), Francis Stephenson (Wakefield), Dean Lawford (Sheffield, Leeds, Halifax), Keith Mason (Wakefield, St Helens, Huddersfield), Paul Mennell (Batley), Andy Robinson (Keighley, Hunslet), Peter Robinson (Huddersfield), Adie Moore (Huddersfield), Mark Fortis (Batley), Matthew and James Walker (Bradford, Dewsbury).

Supporters and friends are invited to meet the pioneers of the club and all are welcome to share their memories and look forward to the future.