Bulldogs defeat Rams to retain Roy Powell Trophy

A 2,000 strong crowd watched the Boxing Day derby.
A 2,000 strong crowd watched the Boxing Day derby.

Batley Bulldogs secured a fourth successive Boxing Day victory over neighbours Dewsbury Rams as they battled from behind to record a 12-4 victory and retain the Roy Powell Trophy.

The Rams dominated the first half but only had a slender 4-0 lead to show for their efforts.

Batley fought back after the break, restricting Dewsbury to brief forays into their half, while scoring two tries to take the spoils.

Dewsbury almost took a 15th minute lead when Luke Adamson drove for the line but knocked on when attempting to stretch over.

Soon after, the Rams were awarded a penalty and they moved play quickly left for Jason Crookes to dive in at the corner.

Paul Sykes pulled his conversion attempt wide but Dewsbury deserved their lead, which they almost extended when Josh Guzdek’s neat ball looked to have put Crookes over for his second try only for it to be disallowed for a forward pass.

Batley signalled their intentions at the start of the second half when they won possession from their own kick off.

Dominic Brambani’s crossfield kick looked to have gone behind Shaun Ainscough but the Bulldogs centre collected and put in a neat grubber kick to the in goal area and Alex Bretherton managed to touch down before the ball rolled dead.

Brambani added a terrific conversion from wide out to edge Batley ahead.

Four minutes later Cain Southernwood’s lovely long pass put Ainscough over for Batley’s second try as the Bulldogs led 10-4.

Dewsbury were struggling to get out of their own half and Patch Walker slotted over a 67th minute penalty to put Batley eight points ahead.

Dewsbury attempted to fight back late on but Crooked was halted inches from the try line by Batley’s scrambling defence and the Bulldogs closed the game out to the delight of their followers in the 2,000-plus crowd.

Dewsbury Rams: Guzdek; Morton, Grady, Sykes, Crookes; Speakman, Kain; Hepworth, Hemingway, Groat, Trout, T Adamson, L Adamson. Subs: Farrell, Conroy, Muranka, Johnson, Teanby, Forsyth, Dunn.

Batley Bulldogs: Craven; D Scott, Cowling, Squires, Ainscough; Southernwood, Brambani; Hirst, Leak, Rowe, Day, S Scott, Walker. Subs: Reittie, Davey, Gledhill, Lillycrop, Bretherton, J Brown, McComb.

Referee: Tom Grant (Leeds).

Attendance: 2,123.