Yorkshire bowlers bidding to reach national semis

Yorkshire's men and ladies bowls teams will be bidding to reach the semi-finals of national competitions with crunch games on Sunday.

Friday, 15th July 2016, 8:30 am
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 7:00 pm

Yorkshire men’s team are bidding to retain the British Parks Cup and face Manchester in a group decider.

The home leg takes place at Hanging Heaton CC and the away leg at Metros, Stretford, both starting at 2pm, with the bar and food available all day.

Home leg: AW Green (Whitkirk) v Tim Holt (Tottington Cons), Nigel Bloomer (Brighouse Sp) v John Davies (SMRBL), Mark Regan (Brighouse Sp) v Nigel Greenhalgh (Hopwood), Dean Scarth (Pudsey) v Jamie Bramley (Sale Excelsior WMC), Simon Walder (Whitkirk) v Jimmy Hynes (Tonge), Michael Sweeney (Overthorpe Sp) v Clive Chapman (East Ward), Paul Kaye (Clayton Vic) v Matt Sands (Lloyd Hotel), Andrew Tate (Clayton Vic)v Wayne Usher (Tottington Cons), Paul Gill (Clayton Vic) v Lee Fletcher (Lloyd Hotel), Nicky Bastow (Eccleshill) v Nicky Brooks (Tonge), Richard Stockdale (Eccleshill) v Steve Ridley (Lloyd Hotel), Danny Towning (Whitkirk) v Tony Mellor (Hopwood Unionist).

Away leg: Ian Shaw (Pudsey) v Dave Walker (Nursery), Chris Mordue (Pudsey) v Dave Phillips (Lloyd Hotel), Paul Wilczynski (Shipley)v Chris Alderson (Lloyd Hotel), Josh Mordue (Pudsey)v John Heywood (Metros), Robbie Ellis (Shipley) v Pete Smith (Lloyd Hotel), Craig Hebberd (Littlemoor) v Nathan Brown (Lloyd Hotel), Matthew Jacques (Shipley)v Gareth Whittaker (SMRBL), Andrew Gilroy (Eccleshill) v Billy Hibbert (Lloyd Hotel), Ian Jacques (Shipley) v Craig Mcguigan (Lloyd Hotel), Peter Clark (Crossroads) v Ryan Sandham (Lloyd Hotel), Paul Rooks (Eccleshill) v Andy Murray (SMRBL), Neil Mylan (Eccleshill) v Ben Phillips (Lloyd Hotel).

Yorkshire Ladies meet South Yorkshire in the County Championships for a place in the semi-finals.

Both teams have the maximum six points from their three games, but Yorkshire lead the table with an aggregate differential of 458 — 178 more than South Yorkshire.

The home is at Paddock and the away team travel to Crookes Moor Park, Sheffield and both games start at 2pm.

Home leg:Jacqui Roper (Meltham) v Jack Fraser; Julie Best (Marsh) v Linda Hawksworth; Karen Whitefoot (Marsh) v Andrea Ainley; Fern Beaumont (Paddock) v Connie Helliwell; Suzanne Howarth (New Mill) v Donna Stancliffe; Karen Gant (Meltham) v Bev Shannon; Linda Gledhill (New Mill) v Natasha Jackson; Lisa Daykin (Thongsbridge) v Lisa Brownell; Chloe Hirst (Halifax) v Katie Morgan; Julie Mallinson (Lockwood Con) v Sarah Fox; Lorraine Hirst (Linthwaite) v Hillary Bennett; Suzi Ladbrooke (Lockwood Con) v Christine Davies.

Away leg: Nichole Farrar (Whitkirk) v Jayne Hamilton; Dawn Bray (Ossett FH) v Jennifer Wilby; Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett FH) v Shirley Darnill; Andrea Buckley (New Mill) v Linda Rowland; Debi Davis (Pudsey) v Margaret Swift; Debbie Talbot (New Mill) v Yvonne Hamilton; Helen Gilroy (Rufford Park) v Jayne Gough; Joanne Speight (Cranmore) v Janet Bissatt; Carron McGrath (Linthwaite) v Susan Hill; Mo Chambers (Glasshoughton) v Debbie Farmer; Sally Turner (Mirfield C&B) v Kerry Brown; Laura Middleton (New Mill) v Melanie Saville Fearn.

Gary Ellis (Whitfield) and Mark Allman (Littlemoor) were the qualifiers from round two of the Spen Masters last Friday.

Ellis drew number seven for the finals, while Allman drew number 11.

Spen Masters

Second qualifying round July 8

First round: Chris Brown (Lower Hopton) 19, Adam Douglas (Overthorpe) 21; Harry Slack (Sheffield) 16, Stuart Hanson (Pudsey) 21; David Baskerville (Sale) 12, Andu Hodgson (Pudsey) 21; Mark Allman (Littlemoor) 21, Lee Heaton (Blackpool) 10; Gary Ellis (Whitfield) 21, Dean Missere (Sheffield) 18; Danny Sillitoe (Doncaster) 14, Steve Baskerville (Sale) 21; Stuart Mort (Blackpool) 8, Grant Pratt (Littlemoor) 21; Darren Grifiths (Chadderton) 21, James Hanson (Pudsey) 10.

Second round: Douglas 8, Stuart Hanson 21; Hodgson 19, Allman 21; Ellis 21, Steve Baskerville 16; Pratt 12, Griffiths 21.

Qualifying round: Stuart Hanson 18, Allman 21; Ellis 21, Griffiths 5.

Saturday July 16: Greg Smith (West Bromwich), Colin Scorah (Crossgates), Paul Hillam (Eccleshill), Alec Heeps (Poynton), Steve Davies (Liverpool), Craig Newton (Wakefield), Simon Walder (Lower Hopton), Peter Clark (Skipton), Adam Morgan (Crossgates), Dave McDermott (Wirral), Tommy Johnstone (Poynton), John Hanson (Blackpool), John Webster (Wakefield), Stephen Leach (Oldham), Harry Seehra (Lower Hopton), Jack Hargreaves (Hyde),

The final of the Dewsbury Parks Veterans A & E Alexander Pairs will take place at Batley C&BC on Friday July 22, start 1pm.

Finalists: W Blackburn and E Skeet, E&M Franks, R Ashton & B Micklethwaite (Mirfield Parish), M&V Battye, J Lay & R Knowles (Rock House), P Cooper & S Crowe, A Kennedy & G Day, K Pollard & J Clegg, L Day & Partner (Holroyd Park), D Boynes & D Fisher, B Holderness & J Howie, A Jennings & Partner, P Naylor & B Ward (Earlsheaton Park), B Foster & T Webster (Ossett BC), G & B Squires, C Lawton & D Roderick (Staincliffe BC)