Young runners impress to qualify for Kirklees Cross Country finals

Seven Primary Schools from the St John Fisher Schools Games Organiser (SGO) Area qualified for the Kirklees Cross Country finals, which were held at Leeds Road playing fields in Huddersfield yesterday (Wednesday).

Thursday, 13th October 2016, 7:40 am
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 6:14 pm
Dewsbury, Batley & Birstall Schools Cross Country Championships.

Qualifying was held on the fields around Batley Sports and Tennis Centre, with almost 260 children from 11 schools from the Batley, Birstall and Dewsbury areas participating in eight races

The qualifying team events were dominated by Bywell, who topped the standings with four gold medals and qualified for the Kirklees finals in all six categories.

Windmill progress in four, St Patricks in three, Westmoor in two, with one each from St Paulinus, Holy Spirit and Healey making up the other representatives from the area.

Qualifying was attended by Batley Grammar, Bywell, Healey, Holy Spirit, Ravensthorpe, Staincliffe, St Patricks, St Paulinus, St Peters, Westmoor and Windmill, with girls and boys races held at years three, four, five and six.

Schools from across West Yorkshire have the opportunity to participate in similar qualifiers in an attempt to progress all the way to West Yorkshire finals next March.

Runners are given points to coincide with their finishing positions, which are then put towards their team score in the final standings.

Scoring is based on the top four finishing runners in the male and female years four, five and six qualifiers, with the leading three schools progressing to the Kirklees finals.

Year three winners have to wait until next year to qualify for the Kirklees finals.

Individual runners finishing in the top three also qualify for their Kirklees finals, irrespective of whether their school qualified as a team.

The event went exceptionally well, with all six of the school games values — determination, honesty, passion, respect, self-belief and teamwork — being evident.

Individual medals were shared out between seven of the competing schools with the individual table headed by St Patrick’s (Birstall) with three gold, three silver and five bronze.

Young leaders from St John Fisher Catholic School, Isobelle Sibbald, Molly Hawkins, Holly-Anne Backhouse, Nathan Jowett, Tom Senior and Luis Callaghan, attended to officiate and ensure the event ran well.

Individual Results

Year 3 Girls: Mary Turpin (St Patricks), Peyton Fox (St Paulinus), Nel Enright (St Patricks).

Year 3 Boys: Sam Woods (St Patricks), Isaac Graham (St Patricks), James Hirst (St Patricks).

Year 4 Girls: P Wilson (Bywell), Aleena Mahmood (Ravensthorpe), Grace Sheard (St Patricks).

Year 4 Boys: Finlay Whittaker (Windmill), Luke Minchella (St Paulinus), Tye Hewitt (Windmill).

Year 5 Girls: Chelsea Butterworth (Westmoor, Isobelle Toher (St Patricks), Isobelle Butterworth (St Patricks).

Year 5 Boys: F Tunstel (Bywell), J Curtin (Bywell), Fionn Illand Hurd (St Patricks)

Year 6 Girls: Matilda Butterworth (St Patricks), Pheobe Butterworth (St Patricks).

Year 6 Boys: Daniel Butterworth (Westmoor), Oliver Athey (Westmoor), Oliver Roebuck (Bywell)

St John Fisher Qualifiers

Year 3 Girls: 1 St Patricks, 2 St Paulinus.

Year 3 Boys: 1 St Patricks, 2 Windmill, 3 St Paulinus.

Year 4 Girls: 1 Bywell, 2 St Patricks, 3 Windmill. Year 4 Boys: 1 Windmill, 2 St Paulinus, 3 Bywell.

Year 5 Girls: 1 St Patricks, 2 Bywell, 3 Healey. Year 5 Boys: 1 Bywell, 2 St Patricks, 3 Holy Spirit.

Year 6 Girls: 1 Bywell, 2 Westmoor, 3 Windmill. Year 6 Boys: 1 Bywell, 2 Windmill, 3 Westmoor.