A '˜bit of a blur' as Tracy Brabin seeks to contest Batley and Spen seat

Almost a month has passed since the former soap star Tracy Brabin was chosen to contend the Batley and Spen seat once held by her friend Jo Cox.

Wednesday, 19th October 2016, 9:58 am
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 7:39 pm
Tracy Brabin on the campaign trail at the Salvation Army Community Centre in Heckmondwike. Picture Tony Johnson

But while she admits the endless carousel of door-knocks and public meetings has passed in a “bit of a blur”, she remains the epitome of enthusiasm and warmth as she gives her campaign the final push.

With the polls due to open tomorrow, Mrs Brabin paid a visit to the Salvation Army church in Heckmondwike.

The former actress is as determined as ever to speak to local residents and find out what they want from their local MP.

“Given the circumstances... this campaign isn’t like a normal by-election,” she said.

“I’m doing a lot of door-knocking, but its also about meeting members of the community in their activities. One thing that’s really blown me away is the level of volunteering... I’m from here [but] I’ve never really taken into account how much time people give for others.”

Mrs Brabin is also adamant that she will not be distracted by Labour’s ongoing internal disputes.

However, Mrs Brabin points out that coming from a background in the arts means she is yet to become “enmeshed in all the inner party politics”.

Also contesting the seat are: Jack Buckby, a press officer for Liberty GB and a former member of the BNP; Richard Edmonds, a retired engineer who is standing for the National Front; David Furness, running on behalf of the British National Party; Therese Hirst, deputy chairman of the English Democrats; Waqas Khan, standing as an independent; Garry Kitchin, running as an independent candidate; Ankit Love, a candidate for the One Love Party; Henry Mayhew, an independent candidate.

The Conservatives, Liberal Democrats and Ukip have all decided not to field a candidate out of respect for Jo Cox.

Polls open at 7am tomorrow (October 20) and close at 10pm.